The Federal Procurement World of the Past and Future

Automation of the federal procurement and awards processes has evolved over time through development of systems to perform individual steps in the process.  Paper-based systems and business processes were automated as the internet became widely available.  These systems were adopted across the Federal Government and are now managed under one organization.  The Integrated Award Environment (IAE) manages these systems and their system capabilities have been organized around six key functional areas. See Table 1.1.

Functional Area Capabilities Legacy Systems
Entity* Management Register/Update Entity core data

Manage certifications / representations

CCR/FedReg – Central Contractor Registration/Federal Agency Registration

ORCA – Online Representations and Certifications Application

Award Management Post solicitation and award data

Maintain government-wide contract award data

Manage government-wide subcontractor data

FBO – Federal Business Opportunities

FPDS-NG – Federal Procurement Data System-Next Generation

eSRS/FSRS – Electronic Subcontracting Reporting System/FFATA Subaward Reporting System

Wage Data Access wage determinations WDOL – Wage Determinations Online
Performance Information Manage/maintain past performance information

Manage exclusion list

PPIRS/CPARS/FAPIIS – Past Performance Information Retrieval System

EPLS – Excluded Parties List System

Assistance Program Catalog Create/maintain assistance program catalog CFDA – Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Support Provide security/access control

Provide reporting/communications support

Provide internal controls

*For the purposes of this capability area, Entity refers to prime contractors, organizations or individuals applying for assistance awards, those receiving loans, sole proprietors, corporations, partnerships, and any Federal Government agencies desiring to do business with the government.

SAM is changing the way you do business by merging nine legacy, siloed systems into one.  This provides users one log in and access to all the capabilities previously found in the legacy systems.  SAM also consolidates data from these systems into a single database, eliminating data overlap while sharing the data across the award lifecycle.

SAM is currently being developed in phases.  Phase 1, released in July 2012, includes the capabilities found previously in Central Contractor Registration (CCR)/Federal Agency Registration (FedReg), Online Representations and Certifications Application (ORCA), and the Excluded Parties List System (EPLS).  Upcoming releases to SAM will include the capabilities found today in the electronic Subcontracting Reporting System (eSRS)/FFATA Subaward Reporting System (FSRS), the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA), Federal Business Opportunities (FBO), Wage Determinations On Line (WDOL), Federal Procurement Data System (FPDS), and the combination of Past Performance Information Retrieval System (PPIRS), Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System (CPARS) and the Federal Awardee Performance and Integrity Information System (FAPIIS).